Please sign up or log in for the best forum experience!

Jay Apr 27, 2009

And you'll find both answers in 'The Art of METAL GEAR SOLID: Version 1.5'.

Except for the one about the bear poop.

Shoe Apr 28, 2009

SonicPanda wrote:
Shoe wrote:
Angela wrote:

Does Snake sport a mullet?

Not sure, but i do know that it's based off of the TWIN SNAKES version of the game.

I'm thinking that was more of a 'does a bear crap in the woods' sort of question.

Ah, i didn't think of it that way at first..

Coolness.

Idolores Apr 29, 2009

Angela wrote:

Thanks to the NeoGAF guys for bringing these to my attention:

Mega Man: Official Complete Works
Mega Man X: Official Complete Works

The first is tentatively scheduled for an October 2009 release, while the second will follow a few months later.  The books, apparently, will be based off the already Japanese-released R20 Rockman and Rockman X Official Complete Works, a 336 A4-paged collection containing illustrations from both series.

I'm going to have to track those down eventually, to compliment my Megaman Zero artbook. smile

I can never fault Capcom for having less than amazing art in any of their games. big_smile

Angela May 5, 2009

Angela wrote:

I really wished I grabbed Udon's Art of Capcom back in 2007.  What I saw when it was in the stores was a gorgeous looking collection, but now it's become near impossible to find.

Or is it?  When I ordered from Amazon last week, they only had one copy left -- but it looks like they have more in stock now.  Ebay auctions for the book have also come down from the hundreds. 

In any case.... SCORE, BABY, SCORE!

You'll also see that I picked up The Art of Bolt and The Art of Kung Fu Panda, two of my animated faves from '08.  They too are very beautiful books.  I'll probably grab "The Art of Ratatouille" along with "The Art of Up" by month's end.

Ramza May 5, 2009

Dawn: The Worlds of Final Fantasy is being released in the US, hardcover, from Dark Horse comics. They've been reissuing Amano art from Japan for awhile now, but this marks the first time we get FF art. It's a really good price, I think it's coming May 13th (I preordered @ Amazon).

This will be the first artbook I ever own.

Angela May 5, 2009

Ramza wrote:

Dawn: The Worlds of Final Fantasy is being released in the US, hardcover, from Dark Horse comics.

I remember Dawn from many years back.  I remember always seeing it at places here in NYC, including the Kinokuniya and Asahiya Bookstores.  I hesitated to pick it up back then, because 1) At the time, I wasn't entirely familiar with Final Fantasies I-III, and Dawn apparently only covers up to IV -- so it didn't seem worth it to me, and 2) As a teen strapped for cash, it seemed my hard-earned monies were better spent on purchasing game music CDs.  It's no coincidence that I spent more on VGM albums during those years than any other time in my life.  (I also blame that on the premium prices that import shops used to charge back then.)

That said, I think Dawn is now worth a second look.  Maybe I'll throw it in with the Ratatouille/Up order. :)

Jay May 6, 2009

I have Dawn sitting on a shelf somewhere. I remember being disappointed with it. Not because the Amano art isn't lovely. It is. But with the 8 and 16-bit games, we spent our time mostly staring at little pixeled sprites and close to no time at all looking at Amano artwork.

My imagination had sort of wandered off on its own so, by the time I got Dawn, there was pretty much no connection between the artwork I was looking at and the games I had played.

Angela May 11, 2009

shdwrlm3 wrote:

I think I need this to live: http://halcyonrealms.com/illustration/t … -artworks/

So much Chun-Li goodness. That Darkstalkers book looks mighty tempting as well.

Whew, the Street Fighter one is pricey, but I sure do want it.  However, if you're looking for the Darkstalkers one, you may as well just pick up the Udon-released Graphic File.  It appears to be the same content, and Amazon's carrying it for cheaper.

And speaking of Udon and Darkstalkers, I'm definitely on board for their Tribute Book, coming out later in the Fall.

Idolores May 11, 2009

What we need is a new Darkstalkers game in the vein of Street Fighter IV. Shit, I'd even accept an HD Remix of Darkstalkers 3.

Angela Jun 21, 2009

Angela wrote:

I'll probably grab "The Art of Ratatouille" along with "The Art of Up" by month's end.

Picked up The Art of Up today, but not Ratatouille's, despite the fact that I love Ratatouille far more as a film.  Up, however, comes off as the more fascinating art book.  With lots of terrific sketches, story board sequences, hand-drawn backgrounds, and prop/location shots, I felt the need to share a more in-depth look at this one.   

-The book's front cover.  The direct contrast between Russell's happy-go-lucky expression and Carl's grumpy, disgruntled one is priceless. :p
-I really dig the various sketches and interpretations of the characters.
-Various pieces of young Carl and Ellie.  Too cute.
-Ellie's "My Adventure Book" and mementos.
-Ellie!
-Carl!  In Battle Mode!
-Russell and his badges
-Kevin!  SPOILER: He's really...... a she. ;)
-Dug!
-Muntz's dirigible
-"Adventure Is Out There!"
-Exotic Kevin
-A sample of some of the neat storyboards.
-Underneath the dust jacket.  Feels kinda humbling to own my very own "My Adventure Book."  ^_^

allyourbaseare Jun 22, 2009

My wife got me Dawn, Worlds of Final Fantasy I - IV for Father's Day this year.  It's a great book and totally nostalgic for the FFIV fanatic (myself).  It was great looking through all the character and enemy sketches and being able to say "Whoa, the Magus Sisters!!"  Definitely a great pickup.

Ashley Winchester Jul 5, 2009

Ashley Winchester wrote:
Angela wrote:

Thanks to the NeoGAF guys for bringing these to my attention:

Mega Man: Official Complete Works
Mega Man X: Official Complete Works

The first is tentatively scheduled for an October 2009 release, while the second will follow a few months later.  The books, apparently, will be based off the already Japanese-released R20 Rockman and Rockman X Official Complete Works, a 336 A4-paged collection containing illustrations from both series.

Want!

I was wondering, has anyone else preordered these things. I put in an order so I wouldn't forget about them - especially the X one. Now that I got X3 and have all the X games (save the GBC ones) I definately want it to amend my X collection.

SonicPanda Jul 6, 2009

Well, certainly I've got no excuse not to do so, considering how excellent the MM Zero OCW turned out - that thing's absolutely perfect. The only thing holding me back is vague unease about what my finances will be like, since October's when I do holiday shopping.

Angela Jul 6, 2009

I'll do a preorder on the Mega Man books when it comes closer to release.  Not to jinx it or anything, but I've got this nagging feeling they're somehow going to be delayed....

I am considering that Zero Official Complete Works book, though, given the universal praise lavished upon it.  Problem is, I've never been fully vested in the Zero series.  At least, I never thought the art style was as creative as the main and X series.

Idolores Jul 6, 2009

Angela wrote:

At least, I never thought the art style was as creative as the main and X series.

Wow, really? I rest in the opposite camp. I think its wonderfully distinctive. smile

Ashley Winchester Jul 6, 2009

Angela wrote:

I am considering that Zero Official Complete Works book, though, given the universal praise lavished upon it.  Problem is, I've never been fully vested in the Zero series.  At least, I never thought the art style was as creative as the main and X series.

I guess I kind of feel the same way, though I don't think the art itself is the deal breaker. None of the characters in the Zero series (even the old characters that reappear that period of the MM timeline like Zero) really stuck me as a gamer compared to those from say the X series like X4's cast. Iris, Colonel, and Magma Dragoon oh my!

Angela Jul 22, 2009

SonicPanda wrote:

UDON is apparently at it again:
http://www.udonentertainment.com/darkstalkerstribute/
http://www.udonentertainment.com/blog/?p=1036

The main point of interest in the latter is the inclusion of stuff from Street Fighter EX and other spinoffs. The main point of interest in the former is, well, LOOK at it. I wasn't planning on buying much in August anyway.

Yep, both of those were mentioned earlier in the thread, here -- though that they're bringing the 20th Art of Street Fighter over from Japan is news.  And very awesome news at that.

I'm definitely down for both, but I'll probably wait out for the inevitable non-hardcover version of the Darkstalkers Tribute.

SonicPanda Jul 24, 2009 (edited Jul 24, 2009)

Criminy, I didn't know they were bringing the PW book over too. Those insidious dastards. Time to make budget plans for the rest of the year.

EDIT: Being who I am, I'd also appreciate if they brought over whatever other MM-related artbooks they have, Legends, BN, Star Force, et al. And a Megaman Tribute volume on the order of the SF or DS ones would be The Best Thing Ever.

Idolores Jul 24, 2009

allyourbaseare wrote:
Ashley Winchester wrote:

Now only if they make a DASH/Legends one.

QFT.

Why do you keep doing that?

Board footer

Forums powered by FluxBB