Soundtrack Central The best of VGM and other great soundtracks

Please sign up or log in for the best forum experience!

    Pages: 1

Ashley Winchester Jun 14, 2016

Curious question. If you were writing a review and one of the composers used an alias would you:

1) use the alias the whole time (and mention the real name once) or

2) explain the alias and use the composer's real name the whole time?

Yeah, kind of a silly question but kind of important.

FuryofFrog Jun 14, 2016

Typically the former although depending on which name he is more known for I would primarily use his alias or last name.

jazzpaladin Jun 14, 2016

Well considering that I use an alias myself...

1) use the alias the whole time (and mention the real name once)

My primary reason is that the alias can also be a part of the branding/identity and is most likely what most users will know to look for. That and an alias can sound much cooler than a "boring" name.

Ashley Winchester Jun 14, 2016

I think Fury of Frog is right in this case. I don't think the case I'm working with is as akin to yours Jazz.

I'm just wondering if I should just refer to Yuko Takehara as Yuko Kadota when talking about Star Gladiator; she's credited as Yuko Kadota in/on the soundtrack but that kind alias (just a last name change) isn't... I'm not sure how I want to put it... much of an alias.

However, in the case of someone like you Jazz, yeah, I would totally use the alias.

jazzpaladin Jun 14, 2016

If it's a name change due to a marriage?

You can always check and see if the new album is listed on a licensing agency like Harry Fox. It is pretty much how they determine who gets royalties , etc...but such agencies also usually have a more "official" title for even people with aliases.

Ashley Winchester Jun 14, 2016

jazzpaladin wrote:

If it's a name change due to a marriage?

I don't think it's due to marriage. For example she's credited as Takehara on 1995's BOFII and then you can skip ahead to the newer Into Creates Mega Man stuff in the late 2000's and it's still Takehara.

VGMdb has it listed as a alias, not a variation:

http://vgmdb.net/artist/1355

Razakin Jun 14, 2016

Ashley Winchester wrote:

I don't think it's due to marriage. For example she's credited as Takehara on 1995's BOFII and then you can skip ahead to the newer Into Creates Mega Man stuff in the late 2000's and it's still Takehara.

VGMdb has it listed as a alias, not a variation:

http://vgmdb.net/artist/1355

Isn't she credited as YUKO.K on the original release of the BoF II soundtrack? So, name change through marriare is still something that probably did happen. Remember that not all of those early soundtracks had direct composition credits.

Ashley Winchester Jun 14, 2016

Razakin wrote:

Isn't she credited as YUKO.K on the original release of the BoF II soundtrack?

Your right, and it says "Maiden name: Yuko Kadota" in the notes field over at VGMdb. Can't believe I missed that.

Given that would you go with the Maiden name in a currently written document or vice-versa?

Razakin Jun 14, 2016

Ashley Winchester wrote:

Your right, and it says "Maiden name: Yuko Kadota" in the notes field over at VGMdb. Can't believe I missed that.

Given that would you go with the Maiden name in a currently written document or vice-versa?

I'd go with her current name. Also, to answer to the original question at the start, depends on case. I mean if you would be reviewing stuff about some Falcom arrange album where Masaru Teramae performs, I'd probably mention in a small blurb about his doujin side with Demetori.

Basically if the stuff is fan arrangement, I'd go with alias, with official stuff real name, especially if the artist has made that distinction.

But honestly, depends what you're reviewing and so on, some artists do want their aliases and real identities to stay secret, so people don't know that alias X is actually composer Y.

Latest Updates

Board footer

Forums powered by FluxBB