Soundtrack Central The best classic game music and more

All Sounds of Ogre Battle



70 minutes total
  1. Overture (MI)
  2. Beginning Of The Tale (HS)
  3. Entrance Parade (HS)
  4. Fortune Teller (MI)
  5. Atlas (HS)
  6. Revolt (MI)
  7. Guerrilla War~Rout (HS)
  8. Rest In Peace (HS)
  9. Coma (HS)
  10. Viking Spirits (HS)
  11. Do Or Die~Brass Of Victory (HS)
  12. Acquired Freedom (HS)
  13. Impregnable Defense (HS)
  14. Autumnal Sky (HS)
  15. Krypton (HM)
  16. Schlieren
  17. White Storm (MI)
  18. Accretion Disk (HM)
  19. Dark Matter (HM)
  20. Billow Of The Dark (HS)
  21. Morning Star (HS)
  22. One Episode (MI)
  23. Neo-Overture (MI)
  24. Overture (MI)
  25. Beginning Of The Tale (HS)
  26. Entrance Parade (HS)
  27. Fortune Teller (MI)
  28. Atlas (HS)
  29. Revolt (MI)
  30. Guerrilla War~Rout (HS)
  31. Rest In Peace (HS)
  32. Coma (HS)
  33. Viking Spirits (HS)
  34. Do Or Die~Brass Of Victory (HS)
  35. Acquired Freedom (HS)
  36. Impregnable Defense (HS)
  37. Autumnal Sky (HS)
  38. Krypton (HM)
  39. Schlieren
  40. White Storm (MI)
  41. Accretion Disk (HM)
  42. Dark Matter (HM)
  43. Billow Of The Dark (HS)
  44. Morning Star (HS)
  45. One Episode (MI)
  46. Neo-Overture (MI)
  • Released Apr 25, 1993 by Datam (catalog no. DPCX-5003, retail 2400 yen).
  • Tracks 1-23: MIDI Versions, Tracks 24-46: Original Versions.
  • Detailed release notes and credits at VGMdb.


A classic soundtrack, and a true gem for Ogre Battle fans!

Essential Listening

Reader review by Jon Turner

Sometimes the best videogame scores can be found in the fantasy/adventure/role-playing genre, and Ogre Battle is no exception. All Sounds of Ogre Battle echoes other scores of this type, including Final Fantasy and Dragon Quest, but it mostly recaptures the symphonic scope and militaristic marches of ActRaiser, a classic from the early years of the Super NES.

What is different about this score is that it doesn't totally stay true to the movie-score feel of some soundtracks, like Final Fantasy. There are no character themes present throughout the score, nor are there any love themes or heartfelt melodies. Although "Fortune Teller" and "Coma" are beautiful, they are far from romantic. This is hardly an insult, because the game itself hardly has any romance or peaceful moments, so it seems to work fine.

The majority of the music is militaristic and stirring, although it too changes style. The earlier tracks, "Revolt", "Viking Spirits", and "Autumnal Sky", are all lighthearted and sometimes jubilant, while the later tracks, such as "Accretion Disk" and "Dark Matter", are darker and intense. In these and other cases, they are impressive, involving, and thundering.

The battle themes "Guerrilla War", "Do Or Die", and "Billow Of The Dark" all are very grand and furious, with each one getting darker and more furious then the last. It is almost difficult to say whether one is better than the other, because all of them are great.

All of the game's great melodies are here, from the breathtaking, exciting "Overture" to the celebrational "One Episode". Plus, there is a free gift with this CD - it doesn't have just the game's original tracks, but upgraded, arranged MIDI versions. They are high quality and very well done, sometimes making the original versions sound weak. This CD is a must have for your collection, even if you're not a fan of Ogre Battle.

Related Albums


Get more done with Motidayt, a simple, powerful habit tracker & to do list for iOS and Android.