Soundtrack Central The best classic game music and more

R-Type Special


  • Satoshi Miyashita (composition, arrangement, synthesizers)
  • Kazuhiro Matsuo (guitar)
  • Akio Kondoh (keyboards)


54 minutes total
  1. Infinite Space I ~ Introduction
  2. Fire And Brimstone ~ R-Type II
  3. Fire Dance ~ R-Type II
  4. Pleasure Starship ~ R-Type Leo
  5. Sweet Flying ~ R-Type Leo
  6. Mystery Stardust ~ R-Type I
  7. Indian Battle ~ R-Type I
  8. Electronic Hurricane ~ Gallop
  9. The Funky FLAMINGO ~ Gallop
  10. Infinite Space II ~ The Road To Infinity
  • Released Sep 22, 1993 by Victor (catalog no. VICL-8077, retail 2800 yen).
  • Detailed release notes and credits at VGMdb.


Apparently the R stands for 'Rockin' - and this CD is Special indeed.

Reader review by Adam Page

Here's yet another disc that I'm proud to own. This disc contains arranged music from four of the five R-Type games (R-Type 3 hadn't been produced when this CD was produced); 2 tracks from each game. Each track is a medley so if you've ever played any of the games from the R-Type series, you're bound to recognize several of the melodies. Both tracks 1and 10 do not, as far as I can tell, contain music from any of the games - they're just intended to set the mood. Most all the tracks are arranged in a hard-rock/disco style but every so often, they'll throw in a Latin beat or classical movement to spice things up. "Fire Dance," "Mystery Stardust," and "Indian Battle" are my favorite tracks, most likely because I recognize the music from the SNES game Super R-Type. But despite some unfamiliar melodies, I've grown to love all the tracks - even "Pleasure Starship" which, incidentally, begins with a sultry female voice claiming that I "make her feel so gooood!" I can't guarantee that buying this disc will have the same effect on you as it did on her, but I'd be willing to bet that you'll at least be pleased.

Related Albums


Get more done with Motidayt, a simple, powerful habit tracker & to do list for iOS and Android.