Soundtrack Central The best classic game music and more

Chrono Trigger Original Soundtrack (Playstation Version)



74 minutes total
  1. A Presentiment
  2. Chrono Trigger
  3. Peaceful Days
  4. Guardia Millenial Fair
  5. Wind Scene
  6. Secret of the Forest
  7. Frog's Theme
  8. The Trial
  9. Lavos' Theme
  10. Robo Gang Johnny
  11. Robo's Theme
  12. The Brink of Time
  13. Delightful Spekkio
  14. Battle with Magus
  15. Corridors of Time
  16. Zeal Palace
  17. Schala's Theme
  18. Undersea Palace
  19. World Revolution
  20. Epilogue - To Good Friends
  21. To Far Away Times
  22. Chrono and Marle (Arranged Version 1)
  23. Chrono Trigger (Arranged Version 1)
  24. Ayla's Theme (Arranged Version)
  25. Frog's Theme (Arranged Version)
  26. Chrono Trigger (Arranged Version 2)
  27. Chrono Trigger (Arranged Version 3)
  28. Schala's Theme (Arranged Version)
  29. End ~Burn! Bobonga! ~ To Far Away Times (Arranged Version)
  30. Chrono and Marle (Arranged Version 2)
  • Released Dec 18, 1999 by DigiCube (catalog no. SSCX-10039, retail 2039 yen).
  • All tracks composed by Yasunori Mitsuda. The arranged track 29 includes additional compositions by Nobuo Uematsu and Tsuyoshi Sekito.
  • Tracks 22-30 arranged by Tsuyoshi Sekito.
  • Detailed release notes and credits at VGMdb.


For hardcore fans or those who don't have the complete OST.

Reader review by Robert Steen

This CD contains the arranged tracks from the anime-style movies of the Playstation version of Crono Trigger, plus a "best of" selection of the OST tracks. To start with, the Chrono Trigger soundtrack is one of the masterpieces of the SNES RPG era, and the music sounds as good today as it did back then. With his first major work Yasunori Mitsuda (and Nobuo Uematsu) created a masterpiece. I won't go into detail about the OST music since there already are excellent reviews of it at this site. Fortunately the tracks picked for this "best of" actually are some of the best from the OST. There are some tracks that I miss, and I don't understand what the song "Delightful Spekkio" has to do on the CD, but overall the selection is great. The sound seems to be a bit altered from the original OST CD version - I'd say the bass is more powerful and the music sounds more crisp and clear overall - I don't know if they have redone it with better synthesizers or if this is the music straight from the Playstation, but that's the situation. Since the sound quality is better I don't mind, even if some hardcore fans might be unsatisfied.

The last nine tracks are the arranged tracks that play during the PSX movies. They sound great, but they are way too short - most are less than a minute. I understand that they are straight from the game, but couldn't they have been looped or expanded a bit? One of the best (and longest) arrangements is "Frog's Theme", arranged in orchestral style. I just want to cry when I think about how marvellous a full orchestra arranged album (instead of the crappy jazz arrangement) of Chrono Trigger could have been. This version of "Frog's Theme" is probably as close as we are gonna get.

Well, if you have the OST, is this a necessary buy? I'd have to say no. Most the tracks are already on the OST and the arranged tracks are far too short to warrant a purchase. However, if you're a hardcore fan (and want the arranged tracks) or don't have the OST, this is an excellent "best of" with a small bonus.

Related Topics

Last comment Sep 2017 by Zorbfish
Started Sep 2017
by Adam Corn
Last comment Oct 2013 by Adam Corn
Started Aug 2013
by Adam Corn
Last comment Feb 2010 by JasonMalice
Started Sep 2009
by Angela
Last comment Sep 2009 by Markishness
Started Sep 2009
by Markishness
Last comment Aug 2009 by Arcubalis
Started Jun 2009
by Pedrith

Related Albums

Get more done with Motidayt, a simple, powerful habit tracker & to do list for iOS and Android.