Soundtrack Central The best classic game music and more

Final Fantasy IX Original Soundtrack Plus



66 minutes total
  1. Brahne Appears ~ Theater Overture
  2. Chase on the Parade Flags
  3. Escape from Alexandria
  4. Prima Vista Crash
  5. Black Forest Petrifies
  6. Black Mage vs Black Mage
  7. Breaking Through South Gate
  8. Arrival at Lindblum
  9. Zidane & Dagger's Song
  10. Kuja leaving Burmecia
  11. Odin Summoned, Cleyra Destroyed
  12. Lindblum Razed
  13. Lindblun Destroyed
  14. The Mist Fades
  15. Dagger's Memories (Madain Sari destroyed)
  16. Bahamut Summoned!
  17. Brahne's Fleet Wiped Out
  18. The Rise of a New Queen
  19. Bahamut Attacks Alexandria!
  20. Eiko Descends
  21. Eidolon Alexander
  22. The Invincible
  23. Saving Dagger
  24. Dagger Cutting Hair
  25. Dagger's Memories of the Invincible
  26. Trance Kuja Berserk
  27. Escape from Terra
  28. Zidane and Dagger go their Separate Ways
  29. Kuja's Dimension
  30. Shinra Parade Millenium Version
  31. Doga & Une
  32. Daughter of Madain Sari
  33. Kuja Theme Millenium Version (Kuja's Palace)
  34. Outtake - Main
  35. Unreleased - Waltz
  36. Kogaku Motet
  37. Organ
  38. Mediteranean
  39. Dokokade
  40. Weuber
  41. Outtake - Kuja
  42. Melodies of Life (Silent Mix)
  • Released in 2000 by Digicube (catalog no. SSCX-10047, retail 2039 yen).
  • Detailed release notes and credits at VGMdb.


John Williams, Nobuo Uematsu, Alan Silvestri, Nobuo Uematsu, etc...

Reader review by Raymond Svendsen

Well, well... It looks like Mr. Uematsu has taken a little bit here and there when composing for FF IX. There's a little FF1, FF3, FF5, FF7, and even a little Grieg, and it's all melted together into a... Sandwich? Is that a good metaphor? (Okay, okay, so I took that one from Conan O'Brien).

Now, with the OST Plus you get songs from the full-motion video (FMV) sequences (tracks 1 - 29), three in-game songs (tracks 30 - 32), and a couple of arranged versions from the FF IX OST (tracks 33 - 38, and 41), and finally, as a bonus track you'll get a remixed version of "Melodies of Life" (42). I'm not quite sure where tracks 39 and 40 were taken from, though.

There are quite a number of powerful and well orchestrated tracks here (as you've already heard if you played the game). I pretty much decided to buy this soundtrack when I first heard "Summoning To Destroy Cleyra" (11) from a clip I downloaded, long before I got the game. The same goes for "Breaking Through South Gate" (21), which really builds up and gives you this incredible rush feeling, really adventurous. I didn't dislike any of the FMV tracks, they are even more brilliant now, as I can play them as much as I want (and without the sound effects getting in the way). I also noticed how brilliant and majestic "Summoning Alexander" (21) really was, since I didn't get much of a chance to listen to it when I played through the game. "Eiko Descends" (20) is one of those cute piano tunes with a few strings attached; "Dagger Cuts Her Hair" (24) as well has a beautiful piano tune lifted up by a few strings. These FMV tracks are very short, though, and there are no extended versions. However, they're many, and they truly amplify Nobuo Uematsu's incredible skill with catchy melodies.

The in-game tracks missing from the OST weren't that many, only three tracks as I could tell. But I'm glad I could get "Doga and Une" (31), which I'll quote Black Mage No. 123 on, "What a beautiful song...". It's quite different from the others in the OST in general. I don't know how to classify this one (an Uematsu), but I do know that it's from FF3 (NES), and this version is just as minimalistic (by choice this time, not by sound hardware limitations). It basically uses three instruments (a bass, flute, and a dulcimer-thingy) and it's very nicely done. I didn't like "Rufu's Welcoming Ceremony" when I played FF7, or listening to it from the OST. Anyway, the millennium version (30) has a more spacious sound to it than the original FF7 version, and that's about it. As for "Daughter of Madain Sari" (32), it's exactly the same as "Eiko's Theme" from the OST. The one and only difference is that Garnet's theme melody is merged into it as well.

Tracks 36 - 38 were mentioned to be "Ancient Music Versions", they are all alternate versions of the (in my opinion) horrible (and basically same) songs "Ipsen Heritage", "The 4 Mirrors", "A Fleeting Past", and "Oeilvert" from the OST. "Kogaku Motet 1" (36) pretty much sounded like it was played by the Orchestra from Hell, with strangled bagpipes in the background and a slightly out-of-tune performance. "Main" (34) is an arranged version of the main FF IX theme (a tiny piece of an FF1 song is hidden in there), and a pretty happy version it is too, with flutes joyfully dancing around the strings (get the picture?). You also have "Walz" (35), which I found to be one of the better arranged tracks: it's more upbeat and has a lighter tone than the more basic and flat original ("Terra" from the OST). "Kuja 5" (41) is for the most part the same as "Kuja's Theme" from the OST, but in this version it goes just a little bit slower, and there are a few variations added after the original theme has played. The variations helps to give this version a deeper, more mysterious feel than the original theme.

Since I'm a Norwegian, I just have to mention that parts of the melody in "Brahne Appears - The Play Begins" (1) are somewhat based on a song by Norwegian composer, Edvard Grieg (1843 - 1907). The original song is called (in English) "In The Hall of the Mountain King". Another interesting fact is that "Kuja's Theme" was taken from the song "The Intension of the Earth" (FF5). There are probably more reincarnated tracks throughout FF IX (listen carefully, and you are sure to find a few).

I don't regret buying this CD at all (as long as I skip tracks 36 - 38 I'm just fine). Sure, most of the orchestral tracks are short (anything from 0:39 to 1:20), but they're so incredibly well made, packed with rich and powerful orchestral sounds, and you do get one of the best orchestral pieces released so far for any FF game. There are also a few nicely redone songs such as "Doga and Une" and the arranged songs "Main" and "Waltz".

If you're a fan of Nobuo Uematsu's music, then this is certainly something you would want on your shelf.

Related Topics

Last comment Feb 2022 by Jon Turner
Started Feb 2022
by Aran
Last comment Feb 2021 by TerraEpon
Started May 2020
by Adam Corn
Last comment Feb 2020 by Adam Corn
Started Feb 2020
by Adam Corn
Last comment Jun 2019 by Qui-Gon Joe
Started Jun 2019
by Adam Corn
Last comment Jun 2019 by Adam Corn
Started May 2019
by Adam Corn

Related Albums


Get more done with Motidayt, a simple, powerful habit tracker & to do list for iOS and Android.