Soundtrack Central The best classic game music and more

Final Fantasy III Original Sound Version



54 minutes total
  1. The Prelude
  2. Crystal Cave
  3. Battle 1 ~ Fanfare
  4. Crystal Room
  5. Opening Theme
  6. My Home Town
  7. Eternal Wind
  8. Jinn, the Fire
  9. The Dungeon
  10. Return of the Warrior
  11. The Way to the Top
  12. Cute Little Tozas
  13. Shrine of Nept
  14. Sailing Enterprise
  15. Living Forest
  16. Time Remains
  17. Chocobos!
  18. Big Chocobo!
  19. Tower of Owen
  20. Vegies of Geasal
  21. Castle of Hain
  22. Battle 2
  23. The Requiem
  24. Go above the Clouds!
  25. The Boundless Ocean
  26. Elia, the Maiden of Water
  27. Town of Water
  28. Let's Play the Piano!
  29. Let's Play the Piano Again!
  30. Swift Twist
  31. Good Ol' Fellows
  32. In the Covert Town
  33. Salonia
  34. Deep under the Water
  35. Beneath the Horizon
  36. Let Me Know the Truth
  37. Lute of Noah
  38. Good Morning!
  39. The Invincible
  40. Forbidden Land
  41. The Crystal Tower
  42. The Dark Crystals
  43. This is the Last Battle
  44. The Everlasting World
  • Released Nov 26, 1994 by NTT/Polystar (catalog no. PSCN-5013, retail 2000 yen).
  • Detailed release notes and credits at VGMdb.


Forget sound quality, Final Fantasy III delivers the same feeling found in all FF OSVs!

Reader review by Jon Turner

Just like Disney is well known for its Oscar-winning musical scores for movies such as "Beauty and the Beast", "Aladdin", and "The Lion King", Square is well known for its Final Fantasy music. Every single OSV of Final Fantasy game music makes you feel like you're a part of the game itself (and should win an Oscar or a Grammy, but I doubt that's gonna happen). This CD continues the same tradition, being the original sound version to the Japanese Final Fantasy III (which was never released in America).

If you've listened to "Final Fantasy III: Eternal Legend of the Wind", then you'll recognize many songs from there. However, this is *all* of the music from the game. Some people might have complaints about this album; if they do, then I don't blame them. The tunes here are less complex than in other Final Fantasy scores, with the exception of one or two tracks (such as "Everlasting World"). Worst of all, Final Fantasy III was released for the Famicom, so all you'll get to hear is 8-bit quality music.

I was completely aware of these facts when I purchased the CD, but still, all of the glory and heavenly spirit of Final Fantasy that only the multi-talented Nobuo Uematsu can deliver is here. The main question is, should you buy this album? For folks who have been spoiled by more modern scores than this, I know that they will definately want to stay away from it. But for loyal Final Fantasy, SquareSoft, and game music fans who don't care about the sound quality but just the music, the answer is yes.

Related Topics

Last comment Jan 2011 by Sami
Started Jan 2011
by Sami
Last comment Aug 2006 by loveydovey
Started Jul 2006
by Angela
Last comment Jul 2006 by .59
Started Jul 2006
by Ramza
Last comment May 2006 by lordskylark
Started May 2006
by Cain Highwind
Last comment Feb 2022 by Jon Turner
Started Feb 2022
by Aran

Related Albums


Get more done with Motidayt, a simple, powerful habit tracker & to do list for iOS and Android.