Soundtrack Central The best classic game music and more

Castle in the Sky: Laputa USA Version Soundtrack


  • Joe Hisaishi (composition, arrangement)
  • Seattle Music Orchestra (performance)
  • Vincent Mendoza (conducting)


60 minutes total
  1. Prologue ~ Flaptors Attack (2:52)
  2. The Girl Who Fell from the Sky (Main Theme) (2:34)
  3. The Levitation Crystal (1:20)
  4. Morning in the Mining Village (1:07)
  5. Pazu's Fanfare (1:10)
  6. The Legend of Laputa (3:06)
  7. A Street Brawl (3:16)
  8. The Chase (2:54)
  9. Floating with the Crystal (:52)
  10. Memories of Gondoa (1:24)
  11. Stones Glowing in the Darkness (3:22)
  12. Disheartened Pazu (4:58)
  13. Robot Soldiers ~Resurrection ? Rescue~ (2:46)
  14. Dola and the Pirates (2:11)
  15. Confessions in the Moonlight (2:42)
  16. The Dragon's Nest (3:31)
  17. The Lost Paradise (1:57)
  18. The Forgotten Robot Soldier (4:39)
  19. The Invasion of Goliath (3:21)
  20. Pazu Fights Back (3:23)
  21. The Final Showdown (2:26)
  22. The Destruction of Laputa (Choral Version) (2:08)
  23. The Eternal Tree of Life (2:46)
  • Released Oct 2, 2002 by T-Tokuma Japan Communications, Inc. (catalog no. TKCA-72436, retail 2500 yen).


A classic score made even more incredible by orchestral power.

Essential Listening

Reader review by Jon Turner

For their production of a new dub for "Laputa: The Castle In The Sky", Disney commissioned composer Joe Hisaishi to re-record his much loved score for the film with the Seattle Music Orchestra. This caused a bit of controversy among some anime purists, but Hisaishi - no stranger to the Hollywood style of film scoring - complied. The new score was released on CD in October 2002 in celebration of the film's DVD premiere in Japan.

Even to this day, there are naysayers who attack this ambitious reworking, claiming that it tarnishes the film. However Miyazaki has personally applauded Hisaishi's new reworking, and there are many who have echoed him in agreement. I am one such enthusiast. While nothing will ever be able to capture the magic of the original score, this rearranged version doesn't necessarily have to in order to provide a powerful, magical experience in its own right. The experience of hearing the original, electronically generated music converted to symphony is nothing less than visceral.

The orchestral pieces follow their original compositions closely and are performed with beauty and power by the orchestra. "The Girl Who Fell From the Sky", in particular, sounds amazing in its new dress, as do "Memories of Gondoa", and "Confessions on the Moonlight". The action cues are equally thrilling, especially "The Chase" and the robot attack sequence. Added to the mix are piano solos and synthesizer sounds (some from the original score) tucked in more than one track by Joe Hisaishi. Admittedly, the recording acoustics don't sound as vibrant as Hisaishi's more recent work for Miyazaki ("Princess Mononoke", "Spirited Away", and "Howl's Moving Castle" come to mind), but there is no denying that this score is nothing short of breathtaking.

There are some minor embellishments to several tracks. The trumpet fanfare for Pazu, for example, is no longer trumpet only, but accompanied by a lyre. The tear-jerking choral hymn for the apocalypse of Laputa starts out a cappella, then is accompanied by the orchestra. Some of these minor alterations may be too jarring for long-time fans of the original score to appreciate, but in many ways they really enhance the score, particularly the aforementioned "Collapse of Laputa" track. There are even a couple of new cues. Some of these replace previous selections on the original ("Stones Glowing in the Darkness", "The Dragon's Nest", and "The Forgotten Robot Soldier"), while others are created especially for the newer edition.

This album release consists of a good selection of the new score - a total of 61 minutes in all. Yet I still found myself wondering if Tokuma Japan could have afforded to squeeze in just a little bit more. The remix of the film's heavenly closing theme "Carrying You" is sorely missed, as is the full version of the fortress fight sequence, which is cut down to three minutes and omits many of its exciting passages.

While some will argue over whether Laputa USA Version Soundtrack does justice to the movie or not, it remains brilliant and an enjoyable listen in its own right, especially in album form. I personally recommend acquiring both versions; each puts its own stamp on Miyazaki's masterpiece and offers a special kind of magic of its own.

Related Topics

Last comment Nov 2021 by Adam Corn
Started May 2020
by Adam Corn
Last comment May 2020 by Adam Corn
Started Jul 2006
by jb
Last comment Oct 2014 by Kirin Lemon
Started Oct 2014
by stingray2501
Last comment Jul 2013 by jb
Started Jul 2013
by Adam Corn
Last comment Apr 2009 by jb
Started May 2008
by Crystal

Related Albums

Get more done with Motidayt, a simple, powerful habit tracker & to do list for iOS and Android.