Soundtrack Central The best classic game music and more

Chocobo's Mysterious Dungeon: Labyrinth of Forgotten Time Original Soundtrack

"The Ghost of Final Fantasy Past."




76 minutes total
  1. Labyrinth of Forgotten Time
  2. Opening
  3. Treasure Hunter's Theme (FF9 Hunter's Chance)
  4. Stella Ranch (FF7 Farm Boy)
  5. Ranch at Night (FF4 Rydia)
  6. Town of Forgotten Time (FF11 Tarutaru Male)
  7. Town at Night (FF6 Epitaph)
  8. Shirma's Theme (FF1 Town)
  9. A Memory Returned (FF11 Prelude)
  10. Dungeon Hero X's Theme (FF8 The Man with the Machine Gun)
  11. Airship Theme (FF4 Airship)
  12. Memories of a Bygone Day (FF5 My Home, Sweet Home)
  13. Memories of the World (FF6 The Fierce Battle)
  14. Together Forever (FF5 The Day Will Come)
  15. Mog House X (FF3 Four Old Men's Theme)
  16. Fragment of Memory (FF9 Over That Hill)
  17. Nostalgia (FF1 Chaos Temple)
  18. Guardian of Flame 1 (FF5 Sealed Away)
  19. Guardian of Water 2 (FF5 Fate in Haze)
  20. Guardian of Light 1 (FF10 Thunder Plains)
  21. Guardian of Darkness 2 (FF11 Awakening)
  22. Duel Room (FF8 Force Your Way)
  23. Phoenix Battle (FF3 Battle 2)
  24. Leviathan Battle (FF4 The Dreadful Fight)
  25. Alexander Battle (FF10 Summoned Beast Battle)
  26. Croma Battle (FF8 Only a Plank Between One and Perdition)
  27. Raffaello Battle (FF5 Battle with Gilgamesh)
  28. Last Battle (FF5 The Decisive Battle)
  29. Ending (Chocobo Racing The World of Tomorrow)
  30. Pop-up Duel (FF2 Battle Scene 2)
  31. Door Crawl
  • Released Jan 23, 2008 by Square Enix (catalog no. SQEX-10104, retail 2000 yen).
  • Detailed release notes and credits at VGMdb.


The Ghost of Final Fantasy Past.

Editor's review by Adam Corn (2008-07-17)

The soundtrack to Chocobo's Mysterious Dungeon ~Labyrinth of Forgotten Time~ follows in the footsteps of previous titles like Chocobo Racing in offering an assortment of remixes from the Final Fantasy series, attempting to send listeners on a nostalgic stroll down memory lane. It's a feat that many Final Fantasy arranged albums have achieved quite successfully, which makes the lack of ambition in this particular effort disappointing.

"Arrangement" or "remix" is a stretch for the material offered here - "re-synth" would be more appropriate. Yuzo Takahashi takes series tracks from Final Fantasy I to Final Fantasy XI and gives them a studio synth treatment with hardly a new note to be found. The synth itself has a full-bodied electronic sound that while gamey is of higher quality than you would typically hear in a game-synth soundtrack. In the reworkings of NES and SNES tracks the synth upgrade is quite apparent and beneficial. As for those based on later source material, it's more a matter of being different than necessarily better, and in some instances ("Alexander Battle") the difference is negligible.

The main problem is that many of these tracks - particularly the ones spanning up to Final Fantasy V - need more than just new synth work. The melodies in tracks like "Shirma's Theme" and "Nostalgia" (FF1's "Town" and "Chaos Temple") still have potential, but they need more elaborate arrangements than the short, decades-old originals. Others like "Airship Theme" (FF4 "Airship") and "Guardian of Flame" (both versions from FF5) absolutely require them - they may have defined a part of the Final Fantasy sound back in the early 16-bit era, but they're hard to sit through in this day and age without some serious reworking.

The first half of the disc at least has some amount of stylistic variety going for it, alternating between battle tracks and "Town at Night" style relaxed fare. Unfortunately the second half throws that out the window with an endless barrage of battle music, which taken in one massive dose begins to feel repetitive - obstinate even.

Despite a general sense of underachievement, there are a few instances in which the re-synth treatment works so delightfully that it's hard to pass the album off altogether. "Treasure Hunter's Theme" and "Town at Night" offer only incremental synth upgrades, but the original versions (FF9's "Hunter's Chance" and FF6's "Epitaph") both lacked arranged versions and are so good that any respectable attempt at such is welcomed with open arms. Final Fantasy V's "My Home, Sweet Home" has seen the arranged treatment before, but the elegant synth work and female vocal samples in "Memories of a Bygone Day" make the version here one of the best. The battle theme "Force Your Way" from Final Fantasy VIII is all about synth, thus the upgraded studio synth in "Duel Room", melded with a frantic new intro and perfectly arranged percussion, make for a proper arrangement superior to the already classic OST version.

Original material consists of two instrumental tracks at the beginning and a vocal theme at the end. The former capably meld a pleasing theme for the chocobo's new adventure with the original chocobo theme, the latter is amateurish and tiresome.

If Labyrinth of Forgotten Time were one of the only Final Fantasy arranged albums available, it would have some merit as a way to experience moderately new takes on old favorites (and not-so-favorites). In reality, however, there are a number of Final Fantasy albums that offer far more inspiring arrangements than the ones to be found here.

Related Topics

Last comment Jan 2009 by Dais
Started Mar 2008
by lordskylark
Last comment Feb 2008 by Kaleb.G
Started Dec 2007
by Qui-Gon Joe
Last comment Feb 2022 by Jon Turner
Started Feb 2022
by Aran
Last comment Feb 2021 by TerraEpon
Started May 2020
by Adam Corn
Last comment Feb 2020 by Adam Corn
Started Feb 2020
by Adam Corn

Related Albums


Get more done with Motidayt, a simple, powerful habit tracker & to do list for iOS and Android.