Soundtrack Central The best classic game music and more

Piano Pieces SF 2: Rhapsody on a Theme of SaGa Frontier 2


  • Masashi Hamauzu (composition, arrangement)
  • Naoko Endo (performance)
  • Daisuke Hara (performance)
  • Mikiko Saiki (performance)
  • Daisuke Karasuda (performance)
  • Michiko Minakata (performance)


50 minutes total
  1. "α" 1
  2. "α" 2
  3. "α" 3
  4. "α" 4
  5. "β" 1
  6. "β" 2
  7. "β" 3
  8. "β" 4
  9. "β" 5
  10. "γ" 1
  11. "γ" 2
  12. "γ +" 1
  13. "γ +" 2
  14. "γ +" 3
  15. "+4" 1
  16. "+4" 2
  17. "+4" 3
  18. "+4" 4
  19. "Rhapsody on a Theme of SaGa Frontier 2" 1
  20. "Rhapsody on a Theme of SaGa Frontier 2" 2
  21. "Rhapsody on a Theme of SaGa Frontier 2" 3
  22. "Rhapsody on a Theme of SaGa Frontier 2" 4
  23. "Rhapsody on a Theme of SaGa Frontier 2" 5
  24. "Rhapsody on a Theme of SaGa Frontier 2" 6
  • Released Jul 7, 1999 by Digicube (catalog no. SSCX-10033, retail 2854 yen).
  • 2010 re-release (catalog no. SQEX-10197) includes a newly recorded two-minute bonus track, ""β" 1: Botschaft".
  • Detailed release notes and credits at VGMdb.


How a piano album should be done.

Reader review by Dean Crowder

Piano Pieces 'SF2' ~ Rhapsody on a Theme of SaGa Frontier II is a collection of 18 piano and six orchestral arrangements from SaGa Frontier II. Masashi Hamauzu is a very talented composer when it comes to piano songs and it shows - more than ever - in this album.

Looking at the full title of the soundtrack might leave some of you wondering what the "Rhapsody" part means. Well, in addition to the 18 piano pieces, there are six tracks performed by an orchestra, in rhapsody form. In music, rhapsody basically means to follow a free-form style of composing and suggests improvisation. The best of these is track 23 ("Rhapsody 5"). It's an arrangement of "Praludium" and sounds amazing when done by a real orchestra. If you never liked this track before then you'll see it in a different light after hearing this.

To break up the piano part of the CD for you, tracks 1-9 are each done by a single piano player, while tracks 10-18 are done by two. These tracks, obviously, are more complex even though you don't really notice the two separate parts since they blend in as if being played by only one person. All the tracks are performed extremelly well and the arrangements themselves stick very close to the original compositions, which is a good thing.

As with most piano music, these tracks are very relaxing; they really make Hamauzu's compositions shine. I think that this album is much better than the Final Fantasy Piano Collections, mainly because of Hamauzu's music. Don't get me wrong, I love Uematsu's FF music, but I don't think it sounds as good in piano form.

Also worth mention is the packaging. The CD itself comes in a cloth sleeve, the case is made of cardboard with pictures of the performers and Hamauzu-san himself, and in the liner notes is complete sheet music for the 18 piano tracks. Not bad at all if you ask me.

There's really not much else to say. If piano music isn't your thing then this might not be that good of a buy. But if you're a fan of the original soundtrack (like me) or piano music in general then you'll highly enjoy this album.

Related Topics

Last comment Nov 2017 by RFGalaxy
Started Feb 2008
by Ashley Winchester
Last comment Jan 2008 by Salvanis
Started Jan 2008
by Ashley Winchester
Last comment Jun 2007 by Bernhardt
Started May 2007
by Jake
Last comment Oct 2012 by Zane
Started Aug 2012
by James O
Last comment Oct 2009 by Ramza
Started Aug 2009
by XLord007

Related Albums


Get more done with Motidayt, a simple, powerful habit tracker & to do list for iOS and Android.