Soundtrack Central The best classic game music and more

Seiken Densetsu ~Legend of Mana~ Original Soundtrack




2 discs, 129 minutes total

Disc 1 (63 minutes)

  1. Legend of Mana ~Title Theme~
  2. Nostalgic Song
  3. World of Mana
  4. Song of Mana ~Opening Theme~
  5. Places of Soul
  6. Hometown Domina
  7. Daedal's Organ
  8. Wanderer's Path
  9. Pain the Universe
  10. Cliff Town Gato
  11. Earth Painting
  12. Marginal Beast
  13. Moonlit City Roa
  14. Everyday Dream ~ Spirit's Song
  15. To the Sea
  16. Southern City Polpota
  17. Everyday Dream
  18. Calmly Travelling
  19. Bedight Orbit
  20. The Wind Sings of a Journey
  21. Mystic City Geo
  22. Memory of Running
  23. The Darkness Nova

Disc 2 (66 minutes)

  1. Pastoral
  2. Ranch Night
  3. Maker's Gallop
  4. Dreamseed Fruit
  5. A Good Thing
  6. Play the Organ!
  7. Play the Organ! Part 2
  8. Nocturne
  9. Digger's Song ~ Underground Path Song
  10. Calm Song
  11. Sorrowful Song
  12. Joyful Song
  13. Mysterious Song
  14. Missing Truth
  15. The Excitement of Both of Us
  16. Irwin on Reflection
  17. The Other Truth
  18. Complicated Destiny
  19. Bonded by the Soul
  20. Aid
  21. Leading into Prosperity
  22. The One who Waits for the Breath of Destiny
  23. Depression Blues
  24. Gem Thief Sandra's Plight
  25. City of Flickering Destruction
  26. Foolish Decision
  27. Those Who Are Shining
  28. The Great Virtue of Gathering Mana's Spirit ~ Theme of Mana
  29. Holy Power of Mana
  30. Silence of Time
  31. Nostalgic Song ~ Ending Theme of Mana's Story
  32. Song of Mana ~ Ending Theme
  • Released Jul 14, 1999 by Digicube (catalog no. SSCX-10034, retail 2854 yen).
  • Detailed release notes and credits at VGMdb.


Beautiful, breathtaking, simply amazing.

Reader review by TerraEpon

"Seiken Densetsu: Legend of Mana" is the fourth game in Square's popular Seiken Densetsu series. In America, we got the first one as Final Fantasy Adventure, and the second one as Secret of Mana. The third one never arrived on U.S. shores.

When I heard that Hiroi Kikuta was not composing the music for the fourth installment, but rather Yoko Shimomura, I could not have been any happier. I was never a fan of the music in Secret of Mana (not to mention the game itself), and the music I heard from the third game, while better, was still nothing that special. However, I am a huge fan of the music of Yoko Shimomura, enjoying both Super Mario RPG's music and its total oposite, Parasite Eve. As a result, I bought this soundtrack "blind", before I had played the game or heard much of the music.

Shimomura is actually the third composer for the series - Kenji Ito wrote for the first one (which I enjoy greatly). Because of this, there is no real "standard" that Shimomura had to keep to, because the series already had a stylistic change musically. She ended up creating one of the most masterful and beautiful game music scores ever written.

Right from the start, the soundtrack pulls you in. A beautiful piano starts out, followed by accompaniment, then it morphs into a haunting movie-esque form, and back again. This piano music returns in full force at the end of disc 2, track 28, with even better piano writing than the beautiful Parasite Eve main theme. The other main theme of the game is the "Song of Mana", which has two versions: a short one of only the fast part on disc 1, track 4, and the full version as the final track, disc 2, track 32. This theme is now one of my favorite OST themes ever, right up there with "Small Two of Pieces" from Xenogears, and far above "Somnia Memories" from Parasite Eve. The song itself is sung in Sweedish of all things, and it fits the music quite well.

The rest of the soundtrack is excellent as well. While I don't know the track names or how the music relates to the game, some of it is easy to spot. The first disc, in my opinion, is the stronger of the two, with a number of memorable tracks. Track 2 has another prevelant theme, a slow and relaxed piece that shows up again on track 31 of disc 2. Track 6 features nice "folky" town-type music, with an unforgettable prayer-type melody. Track 8 sounds like something out of Final Fantasy Tactics and is quite rousing. Track 23 is a total change of pace, with distortion guitars and heavy precussion, but it is still excellent.

Disc 2 is a bit of a change, with a number of mini-tracks and a bit more focus on ambience than melody in a couple of tracks. Track 1 has another catchy town-type theme. Track 6 is a mini-track which features that "folky prayer" theme once again, played on an organ. Track 8, while also short, is another beautiful piano piece. Track 9 is a cool primal dance that is what the primal dance in Chrono Trigger should have been like. Track 26 is an excellent piece of baroque-style counterpoint, perfect for the classical music lover in me.

Before I end, I'd like to mention one other thing - the sound quality. Put simply, it is as good as FF Tactics and Xenogears. Except for a couple of odd instrument choices, the music not only is wonderfully composed, but it's pleasing on the ear as well.

Overall, I can't recommend this soundtrack enough. While it has its flaws, it has so many great tracks that it is impossible not to get emotional while listening to it.

Related Topics

Last comment Jan 2022 by Jon Turner
Started Mar 2020
by Adam Corn
Last comment Jul 2020 by XLord007
Started Apr 2020
by Jon Turner
Last comment Feb 2018 by Adam Corn
Started Feb 2018
by Amazingu
Last comment Jan 2015 by Adam Corn
Started Oct 2013
by XLord007
Last comment Sep 2012 by Wanderer
Started Jun 2012
by Amazingu

Related Albums

Get more done with Motidayt, a simple, powerful habit tracker & to do list for iOS and Android.